Dressing for Job Interviews

OOTD 2(a)

For the past two weekends, I’ve been going to job interviews (omg it’s happening you guys). Regardless of the field you’re applying to, appearance is key. In my opinion it is 😉 because apparently, the first thing most people notice and remember is your appearance. If you look let’s say, put together, it gives an impression that you care about yourself (inside and outside, okay), you want to be taken seriously, and ultimately shows that you’re ready for whatever is going on.

I saw somewhere on the interwebz about dressing for a job interview. I don’t exactly remember it fully, since it was about 3 years ago, but here goes:

  • Neutral Palette – it’s subtle and effortlessly chic to pull off
  • ‘Calm’ Accessories – avoid the long and big earrings, necklaces and bracelets as these items can be very distracting
  • Comfortable Shoes– in my experience, I had to wait for hours and hours by standing or sitting before getting into my 10 minutes interview

I literally wore black, grey, a bit of white and brown as well. Nothing too popping. Although neutrals can be ‘boring’ and doesn’t act as everyone’s favorable palette, you can always mix up the shades with patterns. I decided to pair solid-colored pieces with patterned ones. I have a thing for stripes right now, whether its vertical or horizontal. To me, stripes bring mmph to a neutral based outfit. My main concern of wearing stripes is the color scheme it has. I prefer the garment having a bright shade as its base i.e. white, beige and light grey whereas the stripes itself would be in any darker shade.

Got any tips to dress for job interviews? I’d love to hear from you!

xx, Mirel

OOTD 2(b)OOTD 2(c)OOTD 1(a)OOTD 1(b)OOTD 3(a)OOTD 3(b)

OOTD 1 // BANANA REPUBLIC TOP // H&M SKIRT // BALLY BAG // GUCCI WATCH // MOTHER’S RING //

OOTD 2 // KATHY IRELAND TOP // UNKNOWN BOTTOMS // UNKNOWN BELT // COACH BAG // HUSH PUPPIES SHOES // 

OOTD 3 // HAROLD’S BLAZER // COTTON ON TOP // H&M SKIRT // BALLY BAG // GUCCI WATCH // PORTOBELLO MARKET RING //

\\ Photographed by: Rozzy //

Leave a Reply

